Take the Wheel Questions and Answers
When you say "Take the Wheel" is certified by the state of Oklahoma, what does that mean?
The AAA Oklahoma "Take the Wheel" Parent-Taught Driver Education course is viewed by the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety as the educational equivalent of a high school or commercial driving school Driver Education course and is therefore accepted as qualifying for the standard Driver Ed. auto insurance discount.
What materials do we need to take with us to the driver’s license exam site to acquire the learner’s permit at 15½?
Two forms of ID – Birth Certificate or U.S. Passport & Social Security Card
Approved Parent Taught Driver’s Education Affidavit from the Dept. of Public Safety
8th Grade Reading Proficiency Test/Proof of Enrollment – You can obtain this from your child’s school.
FOR HOME SCHOOL STUDENTS - The exam can be taken at a State Dept. of Education approved exam site for a small fee of up to $25.
Social Security Number
- Receipt from AAA showing you purchased the program
What if I don't pass the at-home exam?
You will be sent a new answer sheet with the letter containing your test results. Then you may re-take the at-home exam and re-submit it for scoring after a minimum of seven days from the date of the letter.
What if I don't pass the Post Test? You may reschedule a time to take the Post Test a minimum of one week from the date on the letter you receive with your test result.
Why can't I take the Post Test by mail? The Post Test is a proctored test, which means that a neutral supervisor (proctor) conducts the testing. This is to take place at a local AAA office or at a local library, your choice. The purpose of this process is to maintain the integrity of the testing process.
Can siblings use the same kit? How about neighbors? The materials are intended for use only by the purchasing parent and student. The only exception to this rule is that the student's siblings may also use the same kit.
Can an uncle, grandparent, neighbor or friend or somebody else teach the program to a teenager? No, state law states only the teenager's parent(s) or legal guardian(s) may administer the program.
What do I study to get ready to take the test to obtain my Oklahoma Instruction Permit? The Oklahoma Department of Public Safety drivers manual (which can be found at your local tag office or can be downloaded from the Department of Public Safety's website, http://www.dps.state.ok.us/dls/pub/ODM.pdf) is used to prepare for the permit exam.
Where is the last page of chapter 16 (Page 61) in the 2004 edition of the test booklet? Where can I get another one? This page was inserted into the back of your test book. If it has become lost or damaged, it is available for download in the "Forms" section of our website or call the Program Coordinator at (918) 748-1071 or (800) 222-2582.
Can I do the driving and textbook ("How to Drive") sections simultaneously? No, the course is designed to be conducted in two phases, which are to be completed independently.
How long does it usually take to complete the whole course? This depends on the amount of time dedicated to completing the 30 hours of textbook lessons and amount of time taken to accomplish the 55 hours of behind the wheel instruction; it can range from several weeks to several months.
How long does it take to grade the at-home exam once you receive it? The chapter tests are graded immediately and the results mailed back to the student within 1-2 business days.
How long does it take to grade the Post Test and get my certificate? The Post Test is graded immediately upon receipt. In the event the student passes, a certificate is generated and mailed within 1-2 business days; in the event of a failing score, a letter will be sent advising the next steps to take. The exception is if the Post Test is taken at the 15th St. Tulsa office location where the Program Coordinator proctors the exam and can grade the test on the spot.
Can I take my Post Test somewhere other than a AAA Office or a library? In the event there is not a AAA branch or a local library available, arrangements can be made for the Post Test to be taken at a local school, once a proctor is established.
How much notice do I need to give to schedule a Post Test? Five days is requested to allow transit time of the materials from the 15th St. Tulsa office to the location of the proctor. The exception to this is if the testing is to take place at the Tulsa office where only a one-day notice is requested. All tests are sent by U.S. Mail or company courier.
Can I buy another kit component (text book, test book, video, etc.) individually in the event I lose one or it becomes damaged? Yes, please contact the Program Coordinator for further details: (918) 748-1071 or (800) 222-2582.